“Mom, Mom, are you done?”

The day started out lovely, I woke up to 4 deer in my yard. The kids were excited and so was I. I don’t know if I will ever get sick of my backyard woodland creatures.

I got my birdseed out. I put birdseed out every morning just so I can watch the birds come eat. They have actually come to expect it. I hear them calling me in the mornings for their breakfast.


I did some chores first thing and my husband entertained the kids in the playroom. I got them ready and we headed out to our quaint downtown shopping area in the nearest town, just me and the kids.

While there, I thought I could do a little antique shopping. I always seem to forget that I can’t take my kids to “breakable” places. They have impulse control issues and have to touch everything they come near. Especially after I tell them not to touch anything.

Here are some lovely pictures I took before realizing that my shopping excursion was not going to happen. I realized this after my children nearly gave the store clerk a heart attack because they had to wipe their snack filled hands on everything in the store.


  

This trip lasted about 30 min until I had to bribe them with a brownie at the nearest coffee shop. Only then were they happy.


I was done after this. Crushed with the fact that once again I would not be doing any relaxing shopping. I was headed home to make lunches and do some more cleaning.

Now, I share this with all of you because I know most of you have days very similar to this.

They are days where you set your kids up to watch their favorite tv show and sneak out of the room to take a shower only to be interrupted with,

“Mom, mom, are you done, are you done? I found an app on your Kindle with a cat! Can I have it…are you done?”

As parents, we give up so much for our kids. No more relaxing Saturday’s wandering the local shopping area.  No more taking 20 minute showers just because we can.

In these moments, I am frustrated and a little sad. Will I ever get to be alone again to just relax?

As I am thinking about this day and complaining, I am laughing a little. My kids are crazy and I wouldn’t want it any other way.

Yes, a moment to shower or even go to the bathroom alone would be great.  I would take that any day. But, also, where would I be without these kids?

I love them. They drive me nuts at least once a day, but I think they also bring me closer to God. If it wasn’t for them, I know I would not pray as much. Not as many prayers for patience, for strength and thanksgiving.

If it wasn’t for for my oldest daughter, I don’t know if I would have come back to the church or become so devoted to Mary. I have her to thank for that.

These kids are my life.  I would be lost without them.

One thought on ““Mom, Mom, are you done?”

  1. As a mom of 6, I totally get it! I am right there with you. Never a moment to myself. If there is ever a time my husband takes ALL the kids, I enjoy the quiet but only for a moment…then I start to miss them. My days are filled from start to finish, but I would not have it any other way. I would rather have a dirty, loud, busy house than a clean, quiet, boring one. Praise God for what He has done in you through your children. God is faithful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

