My Sugar Addiction

My sugar addiction is pretty bad. It’s actually kind of embarrassing. 

Growing up, I don’t ever remember being limited. It just wasn’t a big deal. If I wanted sugar cereals, donuts, soda, cookies or candy, then, I had them.

I will say I am really fortunate to have a fast metabolism on top of being an active person.  

There were the occasional weight gains in college and the beginning of grad school, but I was not working out during those times and once I started running again, I was fine. 

My husband and I developed a love for nighttime snacking during our courtship and marriage. 

There was the time we were addicted to peanut M&Ms for a few months and would eat a 2 pound bag in two days and then there were all those nights we would eat a whole bin of Ben and Jerrys in one sitting.  

I could never get through the day at work without candy. I always had a stash of peppermint patties in my desk. I even had a work friend who bought tons of candy for us just because she knew I couldn’t resist. 

I won’t even tell you what I ate during my pregnancies. I’m surprised my kids weren’t born in sugar commas. 

When I was breast feeding my first child, I would make a batch of Chex Muddy Buddies every other day. I would just sit there and snack all day long. I was addicted, I craved them. 

Every morning for breakfast was sugar cereal or pancakes and syrup or waffles and honey. I remember my brother in law telling my husband that I ate like an Elf. 

My husband and I have been married for almost 9 years and for the past few years, we have been threatening to quit sugar. 

I have to be honest, the thought of not eating sugar after lunch and dinner or not putting sugar or sugar filled creamers in my coffee actually made me scared. 

Up until 3 weeks ago, I was eating banana bread for breakfast, handfuls of candy after lunch and a carton of gluten free Oreos lasted me about 2 days. 

I’ve been trying to lose the baby weight from my third child. I hit a stand still and couldn’t figure it out. I was back to working out, running and lifting weights, and I thought I was eating somewhat healthy. 

After a conversation with my husband one day, I realized, I eat horribly and it wasn’t just the sugar. 

I was working out 6 days a week, but after my late afternoon workouts, there were days where I literally ate cool ranch Doritos and had a glass of wine and snacked on whatever else I could get my hands on before I ate a huge dinner. 

I can’t imagine what I have been doing to my body. I don’t think you would believe me if I told you I actually am not a large person. Before my third pregnancy, I was skinny and just  really unhealthy. 

Another reason for needing to quit junk and  sugar is that I have hypothyroidism. I was diagnosed with it along with celiac disease when I was in my 20s. Sugar is really horrible for people with autoimmune disorders and I have two of them. 

So, my husband and I took the plunge 3 weeks ago (we got a head start on Lent). I’ve got to say that the first 4 or 5 days were brutal! I was cranky and hungry! 

Funny enough, I was craving protein. I’m not a big meat eater, but that first week, I ate more turkey bacon than I think I ever have. 

In 3 weeks I haven’t had any desserts. The only sugars I’m eating are from fruits and veggies. I know many in the non sugar world feel that the fruit is just as bad, but even though I am not eating a ton of it, I’m not getting that picky. 

It’s interesting that I haven’t really missed the candy and cookies. I do miss my banana bread and this morning I made a sugar free, gluten free version (except for the sugar in the bananas). 

 
So my new typical day is as follows:

Breakfast: A piece of homemade (sugar free) gluten free bread with sunflower seed butter and coffee with just a splash of milk. 

Mid Morning: A smoothie with unsweetened Almond Milk, a banana, a handful of spinach, some frozen blueberries and plant protein. 

If we are running errands and I am getting hungry I keep a can of mixed nuts in the car. 

Lunch: Some days it’s a turkey sandwich on a gluten free wrap with cheese and spinach. But lately, I’ve been eating eggs with some peppers and spinach and bacon on the side, with a little bit of fruit or I’ll do celery and sunflower butter. 

  
Snack: my girls have been getting popcorn for a snack, so I will make a bag and after I give them most of it, I will eat some of the leftover. If I’m still hungry I will have a few cubes of cheese. 

After workout: I am eating some cubes of cheese and at this time I’m making dinner. 

Dinner: We have been a bit simple lately. Meat and veggies or meat with rice and veggies. On Meatless Fridays, so far we have done some pasta with cheese and veggies. 

   
After dinner: I will have a protein shake with unsweetened almond milk, plant protein and cinnamon in it.

I’m actually really proud that we have been able to keep this up. 3 weeks may not sound like a lot, but for two people who have no will power over food, we have been doing really well. 

I’m really no longer looking for a lot of weight loss at this point. I  just want to feel healthy. Right before we made this change, I was waking up with headaches every morning and was getting really tired in the afternoons. Since eating better, I’ve had no headaches and have had more energy. I’m even able to run better. 

I’m really hoping this is a lifestyle change that we are able to maintain. I’m not getting any younger and can’t eat the way I use to anymore. 

Here is my gluten Free Banana Bread recipe: 

Ingredients: 

1/2 cup of rolled oats

1tbs crushed chai seed

2 ripe bananas

2 eggs

1/2 cup almond milk

1 1/2 cup Gluten Free Flour ( I use Bobs Red Mill 1 to 1 baking flour)

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp vanilla 

1/2 tsp baking powder 

I put it all in one bowl together and stirred. 

I preheated the oven at 375 degrees and baked for about 45 to 50 minutes

Have a great night! 

Leave a Reply

