How I fell in love with Mother Theresa’s words.

A few years ago, I was at Barnes and Noble looking in my favorite section, the bargain books.

On this particular day, I came across a book entitled, Mother Theresa, Her Essential Wisdom.  Edited by Carol Kelly-Gangi
I’m not one for biographies or autobiographies. But this book is actually a compilation of Mother Theresa”s quotes. I flipped through it and decided to purchase it.

I’ve always known who Mother Theresa was. I knew she was a nun in a third world country who fed the poor, clothed the naked and took care of the sick.

Without knowing much more, I always admired her. This was a woman who truley lived for the Lord and others.
Soon after I started reading, I fell in love with this book. This one woman, living amongst the poorest of the poor and down trodden, was truley such a beautiful soul. She understood the world and wanted to make it a better place.

The words she spoke on love and family were so moving and thought provoking. This book quickly became my go to when I needed perspective in my life.

Here are a few Mother Theresa quotes that really speak to me:

God loves me, I’m not here just to fill a place, just to be a number, he has chosen me for a purpose. I know it.  -Mother Theresa 

As a mother looking after small children I often feel doubt. Why am I here, what is God calling me to do? There are so many people in the world making a difference. Impacting lives. What can I contribute?

I have to believe that this is the path God has chosen for me. I never thought I would be a SAHM, but here I am. I always believed I would be a career woman, a great lawyer, but I didn’t get into law school.

Maybe, my purpose is to raise my children. Show them the love of God, guide them through life so that they can one day make a difference, an impact in the world.

True love causes pain. Jesus, in order to give us the proof of his love, died on the cross. A mother, in order to give birth must suffer. If you really love one anther, you will not be able to avoid making sacrifices. -Mother Theresa 

Being a mother is not about what others can do for you, it’s about what you can do for others. We sacrifice our bodies, leisure time and sanity for our families. We often forfeit sleep and alone time to meet the needs of others. But, it’s worth it. We truley love, therefore we truley give everything of ourselves.

There are many people who can do big things, but there are very few people who will do the small things. -Mother Theresa 

Something I want to teach my children. It’s easy to write a large check for a charity, but to physically care for others, clothe them, feed them and just sit with them. Those are the small gestures that will truley matter in the end. Giving your time to others, when time is so precious these days. That’s what really counts.

It is easy to smile at people outside your own home. It is so easy to take care of the people that you don’t know well. It is difficult to be thoughtful and kind and to smile and be loving to your own in the house day after day, especially when we are tired and in a bad temper or bad mood. We all have these moments and that is the time Christ comes to us in a distressing disguise. -Mother Theresa 

This quote hits home for me. It’s so true that we hurt the ones we love the most. I find myself often in a hurry, rushing around the house snapping and yelling at my kids to then get to my destination and be so happy and social and polite to others. What is this teaching my children? That we don’t need to be kind or patient with one another, with our family? That strangers are more deserving of our time and love?

The woman is the heart of the home. Let us pray that we women realize the reason for our existence, to love and to be loved and through this love become instruments of peace in the world. -Mother Theresa

Women were given this incredible gift of being nurturers. Men and women are different. No matter how much money we make, how high we climb in or jobs, how “equal” we try and be, we are different from men and I am okay with that. I was given the gift of having children and bringing my family together, teaching my childre to love and be loved. I’m glad we are not equal. I love being a woman and having this gift from God.

There are so many more quotes that have touched my heart from Mother Theresa. She had such an ability to speak right to you. She sacrificed herself for others, gave herself to the Lord, loved those who really needed to be loved by someone, anyone.

Even with her own doubts she still never gave up, never stopped trying, or giving her all. She was a true servant of God.

Leave a Reply

