Dishwashers and Lettuce Wraps

An update on my dishwasher… It’s still not fixed. I found out last week when the repairman came to fix it, some sort of pump wasn’t working. He then told me they needed to order one and would be back this week on Friday, so I’d be out of a dishwasher for a week.

Instead of being smart and going out and getting paper plates and bowls and utensils like many suggested, including my husband, I thought, well, that seems wasteful. I can hand wash some plates every day, no big deal. 

Well, it’s Wednesday night and I’m about to lose my mind! 

You don’t realize how many cups and plates and utensils people go through during the day. 

My hands are super dry, my back hurts from standing over the sink and it’s making my kitchen cleanup at night a lot longer. 

And because I’m stubborn, I still won’t go and get paper plates because I just have one more day until the repairman comes. 

The worse part? The pump came to our house in the mail on Monday. So the pump is sitting at my house, but no one can come out to install it! 

Tomorrow I’m making my kids eat off paper towels all day. 

This issue leads me to one of my favorite recipes, only because I’ve been trying to cook with the least amount of dishes as possible. The crockpot seemed like the best choice.  It didn’t turn out to be less clean up, but I love this recipe, so in the end I didn’t really care. 

I have a few staple recipes that I have discovered and make a lot. Usually having to tweak them so they can be gluten free for me. 

The other night I made  chicken lettuce wraps. 

I actually use two different recipes I found online and on Pinterest. 

Lettuce wraps call for Hoisen sauce, which is not gluten free due to the soy sauce. They do make gluten free Hoisen sauce, but it’s hard to find and its usually pretty pricey. So I’d rather just make it at home.  

For the Hoisen sauce, I found a recipe on FOOD. By Ukichix. 

Ingredients:

5 Tablespoons of GF soy sauce.

3 Tablespoons of Peanut Butter. (I actually make my own Cashew Butter and use that instead. I’m kind of obsessed with it right now.) 

  
1 1/2 teaspoons of honey. (I did not use this because we are not eating added sugars right now. I didn’t taste a difference.) 
2 teaspoons of Sesame Oil

2 teaspoons of Chinese hot sauce (I’m Irish and have no palate for spicy foods, so I just don’t add this.)

1/4 teaspoon of garlic powder

1dash of White Pepper 
Directions: 

Throw it all in a bowl and whisk it up. Set aside.

The Lettuce Wrap recipe was taken from The Comfort of Cooking website.

Slow Cooker Asian Chicken Lettuce Wraps:

Ingredients:

1 pound ground chicken

1 red bell pepper, cored and chopped fine

1/2 yellow onion, finely chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup hoisin sauce ( I substitute my homemade gluten free Hoisin sauce)

2 Tablespoons soy sauce (I use gluten free soy sauce) 

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

1/8 teaspoon freshly cracked pepper

4 oz. sliced water chestnuts, finely chopped

1 cup cooked rice 

3 scallions, thinly sliced

1 head Bibb, Romaine or iceberg lettuce, rinsed and pat dry

Directions:

Microwave ground chicken in a medium bowl until chicken is no longer pink. (That seems weird to me so I cook it in a pan on the stove.)

 Drain off liquid and transfer mixture to slow cooker. 

Crumble chicken with a wooden spoon and stir in bell pepper, onion, garlic, hoisin sauce, soy sauce, ginger, 1/4 teaspoon salt and 1/8 teaspoon black pepper. 

Cover and cook on low until done. (For me it’s about 2 hours on high.)  

  
Add the cooked rice and let cook for another 30 minutes. 

 Serve it in Lettuce.  This recipe is so good and although you can’t tell, it’s actually really filling. 
Hope you enjoy the lettuce wraps if you make them and wish me luck with my dishwasher. Hopefully I can last one more day. 

2 thoughts on “Dishwashers and Lettuce Wraps

Leave a Reply

