A Clean Home

When I only had one child, my house was always clean.

Friends would come over and complement me on how nice my home looked.

It was easy, I had one child, a girl even. She never got into anything and her toys usually stayed in one confined area.

With 2 kids, it got a little harder, but I was still able to keep the house fairly clean. Again, my second was a girl, so she just really didn’t get into much. I had it pretty good.

Now with my 3rd, I’m a lot more preoccupied. I feel like a tornado has hit my house and no matter what I do, it is never fully picked up.

My girls are older and their messes are a lot bigger and they have morphed from quiet,  nice, clean, girls into these mad women who distroy everything in their path.

Our days are also busier with more outside the home activities and between all that and my sons insatiable appetite, I just no longer have time to clean.

So when I have a guest coming over, I go into sheer panic mode.

I have this crazy notion that my house has to look perfect. I don’t want others knowing what it really looks like day to day.

This is one reason why I don’t invite people over much. I just don’t have the energy to deep clean my home.

And I get it, people don’t expect an immaculate home. But for some reason I get very nervous, like I will be judged.

I also like decorating. I’m not particularly good at it, but I think my home is unique and I want others to appreciate it. They won’t if they are distracted by a big mess.

But, my sweet little angels have suddenly decided that the bigger the mess, the more the fun they will have.

A simple activity like coloring in a coloring book turns into paper torn out and thrown everywhere with crayons and markers spilled all over.

Who has time to clean up after this all the time.

And kids figure it out young. I asked my 5 year old to clean up her room one day and she actually did. I was super impressed, until I looked under her bed and found that she just pushed everything under there.

What the Heck?!?! How would she even know to do that?

It’s just exhausting.

It’s hard though, as a parent. You want a nice house, but you also want to be able to spend time with your family and do a million other things throughout the day.

And please don’t judge, but doesn’t it sometimes seem harder to teach your kids to clean up and to make sure they do it right then to just do it yourself.

Yes, awful parenting. Don’t get me wrong, most nights we make our girls clean their own playroom. But, it’s such a pain in the butt.  Some nights it’s not worth the fight and I just find myself cleaning it all up myself.

And you know what, I’m just so tired of it. I don’t want to clean up everyday. I want to hire someone to come to my house and just pick up after my kids. The minute they put a toy down, Bam! Someone swoops in and picks up that toy and puts it in the correct place.

Doesn’t that sound awesome?

So, when friends want to get together for play dates and come over to my house, I’m thinking, “seriously, I need a 2 week notice, my toilets haven’t been scrubbed in weeks.”

People tell me I’m going to miss the mess one day when my kids are grown and out of the house. I just don’t think that’s true. What I think, is that when my kids are grown and out of the house, I will be sitting on my couch with a glass of wine admiring my clean home.

Leave a Reply

