New Orleans

I believe that God has a plan for all of us.

 
We may not see it or understand it, but our lives take certain paths for a reason and it might not make sense until we get to the end of that path.

 

I was a 25-year-old girl born and raised in Arizona. Family vacations were spent in California and Mexico I had never been to the South.

 
I decided to go to graduate school. I was pursuing studies in anthropology, my college minor.

 
I applied to Arizona State University and was working with a professor on one of his papers. One day though, I got this urge to apply to Loyola University New Orleans and pursue my studies in criminal justice, my college major.

 
I moved to New Orleans one week before hurricane Katrina hit.

 
I returned to New Orleans for the second semester in February, not all students went back. I didn’t have to go back either, I had no connection to the city and hadn’t started school yet. My roommate was not returning and I had to find a new one. I found a male roommate from France who was returning as well. For me, it was the most adventurous I had been in my life.

 
I first saw my husband on the first day of our graduate program. We would spend every class together for the next 2 1/2 years.

 
My husband and I hit it off and eventually started dating. We were in New Orleans, so our focus was on school and having fun. We went to Mardi Gras and Bourbon Street and embraced our new city together. I was 25 (him slightly younger) we were young and carefree.

 
I worked for the AG’s office in between the Mississippi River and the French Quarter. I lived a few blocks from there. I was able to experience all New Orleans had to offer.

 
My husband proposed to me twice. Once during Mardi Gras and again when he had a ring. The second time was very sweet and romantic.

 
During that time in my life, getting married was the last thing on my mind before I met my husband. I wanted a career, I wanted to go to Law School.

 
Enter, Gods plan.

 
My husband and I were kids. Adults in age, but really, just kids.

 
For the past 9 years we have grown up together. It hasn’t always been easy, we have moved more than a few times and have changed careers several times, with me becoming a stay at home home mom.

 
Law School didn’t pan out. I was rejected from every school I applied to.

 
At the time, I was heart broken. I now know becoming a lawyer was not what I was supposed to do.

 
At this point in my life, I am happy with the way things have gone. Times were tough, they didn’t always make sense, but I am starting to see that this is my path, as crazy as it is and I am good with it.

 
I often think about New Orleans and feel a longing for it. I have this desire to be there. It sometimes makes me sad knowing that it may not be years until I get back.

 
I only spent 2 1/2 years there and for so long I couldn’t figure out why I wanted to be back there so badly. I think it’s because this is the place where I fell in love. Not only with the city itself, but with the man I would be spending the rest of my life with.

2 thoughts on “New Orleans

Leave a Reply

