The Things Our Kids Say…

Kids say the weirdest things.

This morning my daughter told me to stop feeding the baby because his belly looks like “Mr. Ginch” (Mr. Grinch from Dr. Seuss) and that I needed to “close the door” on my nursing bra. When I began to laugh at her, she told me that I was out of control.

This was all before 7:00 in the morning.

My 3 year old says a lot of funny things if she can’t figure out what she is trying to say.  She also tends to repeat a lot of what I say, which is not always a good thing.

About 6 months ago, either my husband or I (who knows at this point) said a very, very bad phrase. And my 3 year old repeated it.

My 5 year old, being the oldest child, is really good at not repeating naughty words. Because she is the oldest, she is usually more aware of rules and what will get her in trouble.

My 3 year old is just too young and doesn’t care. We end up giggling a little because it catches us by surprise.

The phrase that she picked up (let’s just say it rhymes with “oh, duck!”) was not just said by her once. She said it at home and at my parents several times. This made my nieces and nephews laugh really hard.


Of course she continued, because she was getting laughs. She is my little comedian, so getting laughs to her, means that she can continue with her bad words.

But, it’s not just the bad words. She is learning to communicate with her family and the world. This age is my favorite. They aren’t quite sure what to say or how to say things.

Every time we learn about Mary in our homeschooling, she starts to sing “Mary had a little lamb.” But instead of lamb, she says man. So, it’s “Mary had a little Man.” Of course, she’s my kid and I think it’s hilarious. Other might not as much. But, I’m sure most of your little ones have their phrases that crack you up.

When she doesn’t want to eat something she will say things like, “Dinner makes me too tired or that tastes “agustant” (disgusting).

My oldest is known to make up words. Today she asked me if I knew what the inside of a tulip flower was. I said “no,” just to humor her. She called it a “stigh,” explaining that it’s because it sits in the middle and is goes high up.

I get this from her all day. I know I should probably correct her, but I don’t have the heart.when she  does this it makes her so proud to be able to stump her mom.

My favorite though, is that she thinks sunscreen is pronounced “sunscream.” No matter how many times she hears it right, she continues to say it like this.

As much as these kids drive me nuts, they at least make me laugh. They are learning so much and trying so hard. Listening to them when they play is funny as well. I have no idea how they understand each other half the time.

One day they will figure it out, but for now, it’s good entertainment.

2 thoughts on “The Things Our Kids Say…

  1. Today I was explaining to Lillian what it means to be ‘on fire’ for Jesus. After what I thought was a pretty good explanation and feeling proud Nicholas calmly replies, ‘we need some water…to put on Jesus…He’s on fire!’ I couldn’t help but laugh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

