The Stink Eye

So, what do you do when you and your friend take 5 kids to the mall all under the age of 5? You just roll with it. Nothing else you can do.

Kids don’t like to shop, they don’t like to stand still, they don’t like to be quiet or get out of the way.

They like to run and be loud, play games and ignore their parents.

I have gotten to the point where I just yell at my kids so strangers think “I’ve got things under control.” But, it’s exhausting correcting your kids behaviors literally every 2 minutes when you are so over caring at all.

I remember as a kid, shopping with my mom, being able to hide in the clothing racks and play in the dressing rooms was my way of having fun in a boring place.

Now that I’m the mom though, I can feel the judgement from other people. I can see the annoyed eye rolls and hear the huffy sighs that come from them.

When a child runs into you and their mother says “excuse us” or “we are sorry,” cut them some slack. They could not say anything and let their kids bulldoze everyone in their path. But instead they are trying their hardest to teach their kids how to act in public.

And to the manager at the Cheesecake Factory, who clearly told us the wait would be 45 minutes because they didn’t want us there, that’s just rude! Yes, our kids were a bit nutty because they were hungry, but all we needed was a breadbasket and lots of butter and we would have been good.

Don’t tell me there is no room when clearly there are several tables open.

But, don’t worry about us, we found ourselves a Chick-Fil-A and didn’t have to think twice about whether or not our kids were too loud.

I understand that some people are still into that whole, “kids should be seen and not heard,” thing, but it’s just not realistic.

I’m happy my kids can make any situation into a good one. Where boring shopping with mom can turn into fun times with old friends.

I seriously go to the mall about once a year because really, no one likes to shop with kids.

It was hectic and as my dear friend pointed out, “kids are no joke!” But, it’s all worth it when you are able to see a friend you haven’t seen in a long time.

For all those Mall Rats who were irritated by our kids today, just remember that this will one day be your life and you will have others giving you the stink eye.

Be kind. It’s hard being a parent.

2 thoughts on “The Stink Eye

  1. I really enjoyed this because years ago, I was the same way as the childless people in the mall and grocery store. I have a toddler now and I sit him in the cart when grocery shopping. He has a habit of pulling things off of the shelves, throwing them on the floor, and then crying because they are on the floor. It’s SOO embarrassing, but I’m working on learning to brush it off. But just like you said, people won’t truly understand until they are at the store/mall with their child(ren).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

