My Half Marathon Training (Part 1)

I have decided to get back into running and racing.

It is something I did all the time before having kids and I really have been missing it.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but for me, as a stay at home mom, I struggle with finding something (other than my family) that I really love to do.  Something that is just mine and I can do on my own.

Don’t get me wrong, I love being a wife and mother and feel this is my calling, but, having something I’m really proud of, having a goal and something to work hard for, is what I feel I am really missing in my life right now.

A friend posted on Facebook an upcoming half marathon race in our county that is actually happening the day after my 36th birthday. What a perfect opportunity to find out if I still have what it takes.

Now, I don’t just run races for “fun”.

I actually have a competitive side and like to meet goal and break my records.

I have run a lot of 5k races and 10k races but only 3 Half Marathon races and I haven’t yet worked myself up to a marathon.

So, here I am, this mother who just had her third baby, who lives on a mountain and can only get out to run when her husband is home from work.

I don’t have a gym membership, but, my husband and I were smart and got a treadmill for the house when I was pregnant with our first.  I think this is one of the smartest things we have done when it comes to buying items for our home.  I literally have used this machine almost every day for 6 years.

It’s incline might sometimes go from 0.0 to 10.0 and the speed is off a bit, but, it is serving it’s purpose.

My approach to this race is a lot different than in the past. I have always been scared to cross train. Its naïve of me, but I was always worried that if I didn’t run one day, it would be the end of the world.  I’m actually surprised that I have never had an injury in some form.  I never stretched and there was a time when I refused to run less than 6 miles a day.

I can say for about 2 years I was obsessed with my workouts and weight and would not deviate from my daily routine.  After awhile, being that rigid makes you hate what you are doing, but you don’t know how to change.

So, fast forward to having 3 babies.

I finally had my “Aha” moment when one day I took the leap and decided to try something other than running.  I was getting burnt out and was no longer seeing the results I wanted after having my third baby.

So, I decided to purchase an at home DVD workout and I have to tell you, it was such a good thing that I did.

I did these at home workouts for 2 months and saw such great results, I was also eating so much healthier. the weight and inches came off quickly, I had more energy and just felt stronger.  Then a funny thing happened… I started to miss running … a lot.

I decided that since I still enjoyed my strength training, I would combine the 2 and train for the upcoming half marathon.

The difference between this half marathon and the other 3 I had run was that I was actually going to train.  I was also going to cross train. its kind of an experiment I have going with myself, since I have never cross trained before.

How much better (or worse) will I do with this race. Can I get stronger and push myself? Will my time improve? The only result times I can find from my past races are from 2009 and they were 2:06:20 in December of 2009 and 2:04.27 in  January of 2009. I vaguely remember my result from 2012, right after having my first child, was about 2:11.

I am older now and I am unable to run as much due to having 3 kids at home and no one to watch them during the week. So, I am relying on getting stronger through cross training and nutrition.

I do have my long Saturday runs when my husband is off work and I can actually do those outside. I live on a mountain, so I figure the ridiculously steep hills I am running are going to benefit me greatly.

This post is getting pretty long.  So, I will be leaving you for now.  I will post again to share my cross training and nutrition.

I do have to say, I wrote this post a bit late and am actually in my 4th week of training out of 16 weeks.

So far, its going really well.

I think this training will also benefit my children one day, especially my girls.  I want them to see their momma having goals and reaching them, being dedicated to something and working hard.  Who knows, maybe I will inspire them one day to do the same.

 

 

Leave a Reply

