Thinking and typing

This summer is flying by.

I was at Target the other day and noticed an employee switching out the patio furniture to put in the Back to School supplies.

I must have mumbled something to myself or looked surprised because she said  “I know, can you believe school is around the corner.”

Um, no I can’t, I’m still waiting for summer to officially start.

I don’t know what is wrong with me, but I have been so busy this summer that it hasn’t hit me that it is actually summertime.

I’m a little upset because I told myself I wasn’t doing anything once homeschool ended. I wanted to just relax, take one day at a time, be lazy.

Instead, I signed my kids up for several camps and we have been out of the house almost every day.

I cant be too surprised though, that’s pretty much the kind of person I am.  I don’t enjoy sitting around, I don’t really enjoy being lazy or carefree. Is that weird? I don’t know…

My oldest wakes up in the morning asking me what we are doing that day.  Is this something that should bother me?

I often daydream about taking my kids to the lake, exploring the woods and learning to be real wilderness kids.  But, who am I kidding, my kids hate being outside, the bugs eat them alive and my middle daughter is not happy unless she is in a air conditioned room.  The second that child gets hot, its all over.

Today was an adventure to an Orchard to pick some berries and peaches.  First, like most mothers will understand, getting out of the house was a nightmare and the trip started off with a lot of yelling and crankiness all around.

We arrived an hour late, (this was a moms group outing) and we were literally there for 20 minutes before my middle daughter was too hot and my oldest rubbed sunscreen in her eyes and threw a ginormous tantrum.  I will have to say, that none of the other kids there wanted to stay, either.  So, I’m almost glad to know I am not the only one.

While I am on the subject of kids not wanting to do things.  My middle child has developed a really bad social anxiety.  I know that for many 3 year olds this is common.

We went to a birthday party this weekend with kids that are very familiar to my daughter. She knows them well, has played with them often and she knows their mothers. The room we had cake and pizza in was a bit small and she would have had to sit at a narrow table with everyone.

 

She wouldn’t even step foot in the room. She was so freaked out that someone might look at her, that she ate her pizza in the hallway with the birthday boys grandmother.  By the time she had her first slice she was happy as a clam an by the third piece she was very content to sit alone and talk to herself.

I know she is going to be an introvert and of course, not being one myself, I have no idea how I should deal with it. She is very similar to her father and so at least she has someone who understands her.

Back to my summertime subject…

It is approaching the middle of July now and soon, summer will officially be over.  We do have one more trip planned in August and I am hoping I can remember to really relax and just enjoy the time I have with my family.

Life just goes by too fast. Before we know it another season will be upon us.  My oldest daughter has lost her first tooth, will turn 6 in September and will be starting Kindergarten.  I just realized that soon my baby will be 1.

In all honesty, I really don’t know how to slow down. I’ve been like this my whole life.  running from activity to activity, project to project.  its just not in my nature to sit back and relax.  if I tried, it would drive me nuts.

Even today, after we came home from our outing, I was so tired, but instead of sitting down I started writing this post and thinking about the laundry, cleaning and gardening I need to do. My mind never stops.  Granted, I have a baby napping and the other kids are playing quietly, so of course I need to be getting as much done as I can.  But, even if they where all running around like crazy people I would be doing some sort of chore.

My daughter is now sitting on my lap while I try to type and is crunching her snack as loud as she can in my face, so that’s my cue to end this post now.

I really didn’t have a huge point, just thinking and typing.  That’s the problem with a brain that goes a mile a minute…there is just a lot of thinking.

Now off to do some laundry.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Thinking and typing

Leave a Reply

