B-A-N-A-N-A-S

I love food.

I’m by no means a “foodie.”

I don’t eat at trendy restaurants or eat exotic, interesting foods.

I do however like to eat. I like to eat the foods I enjoy, such as peanut butter and tacos.

IMG_3824

Like I have mentioned a few times, in different posts, I have tried to cut most sugar out of my diet. Instead of things like sugar in my coffee or bags and bags of candy throughout the day, I now try to make sure that nothing I eat has more than 3 or 4 grams of sugar in it per serving. This has really placed a lot of restrictions on what I eat. It has also opened my eyes to where sugar hides out.

I feel better though and kicking my sugar addictions was one of the best things I could have done for my body.

I have also been experimenting with my meals and snacks.  I am by no means a cook or baker. I am actually pretty useless in the kitchen when it comes to things, like dinner prep. I do however, (not to toot my own horn) do an “oaky” job with preparing some healthy snacks. As long as there isn’t a lot of cooking or baking involved.

I am also really good at making things that involve bananas.  I like to use them as a natural sweetener. I also use them a lot because seem to always have a ton laying around the kitchen.

So, I guess the purpose of this blog is to share some of my creations with the world. The recipes I am sharing have bananas in them.  Its kind of my thing and like I said, they are good to use as a sweetener. Now, I don’t think they are super unique, but I am proud of myself for not following any recipes. I did get a lot of ideas from Pinterest, but wanted to make them my way, with the ingredients I would like. This also   makes me feel very domestic.

All these recipes have basically the same concept and similar ingredients, but, it goes to show, with the same basic ingredients, you can produce a few different varieties of snacks.  (Don’t judge, I am a beginner and am sticking to what I know.)

Like I said, I often use bananas in my “creations.”

First up, my Banana Protein Muffins.

These are pretty addicting and I enjoy eating them when I drink my coffee.  So, needless to say, I often eat too many of these at once.

IMG_7224

I have 2 versions of this muffin I like.

Ingredients:

2 over ripe bananas ( I usually have 4 or 5 ripe bananas in the freezer at a time. Once they become too ripe to eat, I feel bad throwing them away and just stick them in the freezer.)

1 tsp of baking soda
1 large egg
1 tsp of cinnamon
1 tsp of vanilla 1 cup of almond flour
1/4 cup of almond milk
1 tbsp. of flax seeds
Bake in the oven at 325 degrees for 25 minutes

Another variation of this recipe is to drop the egg, use coconut flour and add 1 scoop of banana or vanilla protein powder.

Another banana based recipe I have tried is a no bake recipe. I’ve seen these protein balls all over Pinterest so I decided to try and experiment with what I had around the kitchen.

IMG_7223

Ingredients:

Banana Protein Balls
2 large bananas
1/2 cup of quick oats
2tbsp sunflower seed butter (or any other nut butters)
Flax seed/chai (6grams)
1scoop of protein powder

Makes 24 balls, freeze for 2 hours

These were very popular with my husband. So I decided to make them again. Of course, true to my nature, in the middle of making them, I decided to switch it up. So I ended up with banana, chocolate cookies.

IMG_7124

Ingredients:

4 bananas
1 cup oatmeal
1/2 cup crunchy almond butter
2 scoops Banana flavored protein
2 tbsp Cocoa powder
1tsp baking powder
1tsp vanilla

Bake in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.

These are actually my favorite so far. I freeze them and either eat them cold or put them in the microwave for 30 seconds. When they get soft, they are really creamy.

Last, I tried to make a “healthy” cake. This recipe I did see on Pinterest, but changed it up quite a bit. I also added a frosting to it.  This one is not fully sans extra sugar due to mini chocolate chips added to the recipe.

IMG_7048

I made this as a dessert, but feel it would make a better breakfast cake or mid afternoon with coffee snack.

Ingredients:

Cake:
3 ripe bananas
1 egg
2tbsp honey
1/4 cup of peanut butter
1 1/2 cups coconut flour
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 cups mini chocolate chips
1/3 cup cocoa powder
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt

Add all ingredients and blend.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes or until done.

Frosting
On stovetop bring 1 cup of milk to a boil
Add 1 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips stir till melted.
Add 1/2 cup of plain Greek yogurt and stir till blended.
Pour on top of cooled cake, sprinkle mini chocolate chips on top.

So, these are the banana recipe I have been dabbling with. I’ve made a promise to myself to switch things up soon and try different ingredients. I do have a freezer full of a variety of frozen fruits due to a huge sale at the grocery store over the summer. So maybe I will figure something out with all those.

Anyway, if you decide to try any of these, then great and good luck! I enjoyed them and I hope you do as well.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “B-A-N-A-N-A-S

Leave a Reply

